Minnesota Changes Blood Donation Law for Tattooed People
In most states you cannot donate blood if you’ve been tattooed within 12 months, but this is no longer an issue in Minnesota. Due to a new FDA regulation tattoo shops are now regulated by the state, effective April 16. The 12 month rule was originally written to protect blood banks from getting contaminated blood from tattoo shops that use dirty needles, but since Minnesota passed a law requiring that all tattoo shops be licensed it is now regulated by the state. Experts at the Red Cross expect this small change to make a major difference and believe they will see over 10,000 new donors this year.
Source: Hope Gallery