When George R.R Martin Met the SuicideGirls of Blackheart Burlesque

Author:
Publish date:
Updated on

Is this what George R.R. Martin is doing rather than finishing the Game of Thrones books?

Over the course of their three years touring the globe, the girls of the SuicideGirls Blackheart Burlesque tour have gained quite the following. But last night on November 17th of 2015, one of the world's best selling authors paid attendance at their Santa Fe tour stop. The ladies of Blackheart Burlesque performed at the Jean Cocteau Cinema in Santa Fe, New Mexico, which is owned by legendary author George R.R. Martin, a.k.a the mastermind behind the best selling Game of Thrones series. That's right, George R.R. Martin is a SuicideGirls fan and last night he enjoyed their nerd-tastic performance which honored one of his favorite charities, Wild Spirit Wolf Sanctuary.

Screen-Shot-2015-11-18-at-2.33.57-PM

SuicideGirls Blackheart Burlesque brings science fiction, fantasy, and pop culture to their stage, performing numbers inspired by cult classics like 50 Shades of Grey, Pokémon, and of course Game of Thrones. Last night the ladies had the opportunity to bring burlesque to the "A Song of Fire and Ice" series in front of the man who Time magazine calls, "the American Tolkein"."Performing our Daenerys Targaryen inspired burlesque number in front of George RR Martin was a lot of pressure. Luckily he liked it and we had dinner instead of being killed off," says Missy, the founder of SuicideGirls.

Screen-Shot-2015-11-18-at-2.34.12-PM

The proceeds of the show hosted at the Jean Cocteau Cinema supported the Wild Spirit Wolf Sanctuary, a charity that is dedicating to rescuing displaced, unwanted, and un-released captive-bred wolves, wolf-dogs, and other exotic canines. Fans of "Song of Ice and Fire" know well that Martin is both a fan of wolves in his real life and in his book series, featuring Dire Wolves in his stories which believe it or not, once walked the earth during the last ice age. This is far from the first philanthropic event that Martin has held in honor of the Wild Spirit Wolf Sanctuary, back in 2014 he held a campaign raising money for the charity that offered a chance for one lucky fan to accompany the author in a helicopter ride to the wolf sanctuary. Martin also offered for a character named after the winner to be killed off in his next book. This campaign ended up raising $502,549 for the wolf sanctuary, proving that although Martin may be ruthless killing off some of our favorite characters in his book series, he's got a soft spot for the animals.

Screen-Shot-2015-11-18-at-2.32.48-PM

"We all loved George so much that we've decided to stay in Santa Fe and distract him from writing his next novel," says Sunshine Suicide, the Tour Manager of the Blackheart Burlesque Tour. And while the girls of Blackheart Burlesque would probably love to spend more time with the legendary fantasy author, the SuicideGirls tour is far from over. Next up on their tour, the ladies will be performing in Phoenix, Arizona tonight and then will be making stops at cities across the west coast. Be sure to book your tickets, this is an event that you won't want to miss!

Available at INKEDSHOP.COM: "Darth Vader Profile" Bi-Fold Wallet By Dynomighty

Available at INKEDSHOP.COM: "Darth Vader Profile" Bi-Fold Wallet By Dynomighty